How to: Install DDM Tuning HID kit - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 03-26-2010, 07:24 PM   #1
offroadkarter
U jelly of my

Bronco Info: 1996 Eddie Bauer 351W
How to: Install DDM Tuning HID kit

Now this write up will apply to most other HID systems, they are for the most part the same.

I installed the DDM tuning (not the apexicone raptor kit, thats another one that i have no experience with) 35W 6000K Hi/Lo HID kit. I wanted to keep my high beams so I spent alittle extra for these, well worth it

Lets get down to business....

First off, as with any electrically based modification, unhook the battery. You might as well pull both cables off as we will be working with them later....

Now, Pull the battery out of the truck and set it on the ground, so you have more room to do the passenger side bulb. I suggest doing this side first so you have enough room to mess around and can figure everything out before you move to the drivers side, as that is a very tight area with the coolant and washer fluid tanks being right there.

Pull out the old bulbs and put them somewhere safe. Remember, when handling any bulb whether it be HID or halogen, never touch the glass!

Chances are you have to trim down the bulb retaining ring, as it is so deep it will hit where the wires go into the bulb.

Dont use this picture as a reference of how much you need to trim, I had to go back and cut more off.

Now take the HID bulb, and part of the base (where you see the blue O ring gasket) twists off, twist that off and remove it. Also if you see a clear O ring under that, throw it out it isnt needed. Next, put the bulb retaining ring that you just cut, over the bulb, then reinsert the base of the HID bulb and lock it down.

Afterwords, just install the bulb like any other bulb