art carr style shifter??? - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2010, 02:08 AM   #1
JERAD121
JEEP CREEP
 
JERAD121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: garden grove ca
Posts: 2,502
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: JEEP ZJ!!
art carr style shifter???

ive got a 95 with the e4od can i use ane art carr style shifter in it. ive only seen them for the c6 trans. is there one made for my trans. or am i SOL?
JERAD121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2010, 02:45 AM   #2
GKR
Registered User
 
GKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,104
iTrader: (15)
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco XLT, 95 Bronco XLT, 96 Bronco XLT
96 with E4OD. When you order, you just specify the application and they will send you the correct end.

GKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 08:45 AM   #3
SoCalFSB
OMG its almost a
 
SoCalFSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,372
iTrader: (8)
Bronco Info: 1990 XLT, 351, and a bunch more
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKR View Post
96 with E4OD. When you order, you just specify the application and they will send you the correct end.

Greg's bronco always brings teh sex! I always wondered if they made a gate shifter for the E4OD, now I know!

Did you mount that straight to that sheetmetal or is there some sort of metal cage underneath the shifter?
__________________
SoCalFSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 10:47 AM   #4
GKR
Registered User
 
GKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,104
iTrader: (15)
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco XLT, 95 Bronco XLT, 96 Bronco XLT


GKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 11:45 AM   #5
JERAD121
JEEP CREEP
 
JERAD121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: garden grove ca
Posts: 2,502
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: JEEP ZJ!!
Cool thanks man. Love the center consol. That's prettyclose to what I want to build
JERAD121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 01:36 PM   #6
Robs79bronc
Registered User
 
Robs79bronc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Blair, WI
Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco 400 4" lift, 38.5 mickey thompson baja claws, cut fenders
Yeah that is bad ass right there...
Robs79bronc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 09:19 AM   #7
TimmyD
Registered User
 
TimmyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1991 work in progress and 1996 Prerunner
Where did you order this shifter? Does this shifter allow you to bypass the computer to manually shift?
TimmyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 02:52 AM   #8
lifeinthesouth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kodiak, AK
Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: '95 5.0l e4od
I've always wondered... what do you do with all the stuff (stock shifter) on the column after installing the Art Carr.
__________________
--Mike
lifeinthesouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 10:46 AM   #9
Dustball
shibby
 
Dustball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minnesota (it's not so cold here)
Posts: 5,123
iTrader: (29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyD View Post
Where did you order this shifter? Does this shifter allow you to bypass the computer to manually shift?
It's a mechanical shifter, does the exact same thing as the column shifter except in a different location. It doesn't have anything to do with the transmission electricals.
Dustball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 01:07 PM   #10
GKR
Registered User
 
GKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,104
iTrader: (15)
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco XLT, 95 Bronco XLT, 96 Bronco XLT
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeinthesouth View Post
I've always wondered... what do you do with all the stuff (stock shifter) on the column after installing the Art Carr.
I just removed everything I could. You end up with the little nub on the column. I got the dashmounted overdrive butten from a mid 80's Bronco and mounted that in my dash. Just took the wiring from the column shifter and tied it into the button.
GKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 05:01 PM   #11
PWMTN
Registered User
 
PWMTN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CO/SF Baja
Posts: 689
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: Stretched 96 5.8 with many desert mods.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JERAD121 View Post
ive got a 95 with the e4od can i use ane art carr style shifter in it. ive only seen them for the c6 trans. is there one made for my trans. or am i SOL?
========
E4OD aftermarket shifters have 3 positions. For OD control you need to add a switch. If you want it to be a manual controlled tranny you need to buy a valve body. Most guys like a reverse body which gives you 1,2,3 and the thing will no longer shift automatically. You can use these shifters with a stock tranny and it will be D,2,1 just like stock.
PW
PWMTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 05:06 PM   #12
JERAD121
JEEP CREEP
 
JERAD121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: garden grove ca
Posts: 2,502
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: JEEP ZJ!!
sweet thanks for the info guys I should be ordering one soon once i get my tax return.
JERAD121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 06:46 PM   #13
TimmyD
Registered User
 
TimmyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1991 work in progress and 1996 Prerunner
So does this shifter bypass the computer? I called summit and they said the E40OD doesn't bypass the computer. I felt like they were not very sure of themselves though. They said my best bet was to go with a C-6, vaulve body and shifter to get around the computer.
TimmyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 07:44 PM   #14
PWMTN
Registered User
 
PWMTN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CO/SF Baja
Posts: 689
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: Stretched 96 5.8 with many desert mods.
[quote=TimmyD;2309718]So does this shifter bypass the computer? I called summit and they said the E4OD doesn't bypass the computer. I felt like they were not very sure of themselves though. They said my best bet was to go with a C-6, vaulve body and shifter to get around the computer.[/QUOTE
=========
E4OD is computer controlled. The shifter has noithing to do with the computer. As I said you can install a manual valve body so you can control the shifts. The torque converter would still be controlled by the computer unless you install a manual switch setup.
The C6 is a 3 speed and has no torque converter lockup. A different tranny.
The C6 and E4OD shifter are the same item, but when used with the E4OD you need a switch to control the "OD Off" command. Read the other comments they are correct.
PW
PWMTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 09:44 PM   #15
TimmyD
Registered User
 
TimmyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1991 work in progress and 1996 Prerunner
Here is my issue. I have a 1996 Bronco with an E40OD. I've been racing it for almost a year now (transforming it from a pre-runner to race truck). recently I ripped out the dash and instument cluster and added new auto meter gauges in the new fabricated dash. my problem now is it won't shift properly after second gear. I had a transmission guy say that the E40OD is computer controlled and the truck is in safe mode.

I guess what I need to know is, being that my wiring harness no longer exists, is there a shifter and valve body that I can swap out without changing my transmission? Currently I can maually shift first and second just fine but when I go into drive it won't let me get over 3K RPM's. Real Wierd.
TimmyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:53 PM   #16
justin
BRONCO WIZARD
 
justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,946
iTrader: (66)
Bronco Info: 96 XLT/5.0/E4OD
You removed the PSOM, probably responsible for some, if not all of your problems.
__________________
Quote:
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.
-Winston Churchill
justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:58 PM   #17
Dustball
shibby
 
Dustball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minnesota (it's not so cold here)
Posts: 5,123
iTrader: (29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by justin View Post
You removed the PSOM, probably responsible for some, if not all of your problems.
I agree.

The fuse for your radio is also for the speedometer and E4OD. No speedometer = no E4OD shifts.
Dustball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:00 PM   #18
fbm1344t
Registered User
 
fbm1344t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Jerz
Posts: 128
iTrader: (8)
Just swap to a c-6 and it should solve your problems, definitly need the comp in order to shift right.
__________________

95 F-150 XL, rebuilt 300/M5OD 3G
D44 SAS,35" General grabbers
9k winch, custom bumper
fbm1344t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 01:12 AM   #19
TimmyD
Registered User
 
TimmyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1991 work in progress and 1996 Prerunner
I guess I'm in the market for a C-6. Any suggestion on where to get one or is anyone selling one?
TimmyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 09:08 AM   #20
Wheelin-Idaho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader: (0)
All over craiglist for dirt cheap, & tougher then nails...The shifters only run about 150-200 for them as well.
__________________
Just exploring the mountains in my trusty ol' Ford....
Wheelin-Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > BroncoSpeed


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 PM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved