Horn Relay Location? - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2010, 11:00 PM   #1
broncoboy599
Registered User
 
broncoboy599's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 89 bronco 5.0 on 32 inch tires blue and tan with an eddie bauer package
Horn Relay Location?

My horn, and cruise both cut out and I figured its the relay. Only problem is I can't find the relay. Autozone repair guide says on the dash support but I cant find it. If it makes any difference I have electronic locking hubs and its a 1989 Bronco Eddie Bauer.

Thanks for any help.
Mike
broncoboy599 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-06-2010, 10:17 AM   #2
BigBroncoLuvr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hobe Sound, FL
Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT, 351, E4OD, 6" Suspension Lift
My horn is not working either....so I'm interested in this too.
__________________
1995 XLT with 351/Auto/Limited Slip/6" Suspension Lift
BigBroncoLuvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 12:42 PM   #3
miesk5
Fullsize Member
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 11,852
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
yo!
Relay Location in an 89; "...under the middle of the dash, but it's probably not the older metal 3-terminal relay attached to the cruise module; it looks more like the FP relay. If that's what you have, I suggest you chop it (& the FP & EEC PWR relays) off and replace it with a Bosch/ISO...But remember that it's possible for your horn relay to be working perfectly & the wiring or the horns themselves could be bad..."
Source: by Steve83 (Steve, That dirty old truck) at Ford Bronco Zone Forums
--

92-96 Horn Relay is in da Power Distribution Box (PDB); here is the PDB Diagram in a 96, sim to a 95; the PDB is Located under the hood on the drivers side fenderwell, behind the stock air cleaner location..."
Source: by Ford via Roadkill (The Beast) at SuperMotors.net


See Relay #3

you can swap it temp w/da FP relay to verify where it is good/...check for corrosion..
could be other problems along ckt.
__________________
96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN (Ret) & MIL/DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see current page

Last edited by miesk5; 02-06-2010 at 12:43 PM. Reason: spAlleng and C&P prob
miesk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 07:39 AM   #4
BigBroncoLuvr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hobe Sound, FL
Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT, 351, E4OD, 6" Suspension Lift
After searching and reading several posts on this subject, I figured my horn not-working problem (as well as my airbag dash light blinking problem) was related to having to replace the airbag clock spring on my 95 FSB. The PO also mentioned he thought the clock spring was an issue as well. So, I replaced it.

As soon as I had it all together, the airbag light stopped blinking (good news) and the horn worked (more good news), but the horn only worked one time (not such good news). Now the horn does not work. I am puzzled.

I thought there would be a fuse I could check, but I cannot find any fuse related to the horn in my dash fuse box.

Suggestions and comments are welcome !
__________________
1995 XLT with 351/Auto/Limited Slip/6" Suspension Lift
BigBroncoLuvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 10:22 AM   #5
miesk5
Fullsize Member
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 11,852
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
yo BBL;
In my 96, whcih is = to your 95; the Horn Relay Fuse is also in da Power Distribution Box (PDB);

Fuse Position Amps Circuits Protected
1 20 Radio
2 30 4WABS Relay No. 1
3 30 Horn Relay, Daytime Running Lamps (DRL), Multi-Function Switch, Speed Control
4 25 Trailer Marker Lamps Relay, Trailer Backup Lamps Relay
5 15 Heated Oxygen Sensor (HO2S), Backup Lamps, 4WABS, Trailer Battery Charge Relay, Daytime Running Lamps (DRL), Speed Control
6 10 Trailer Right Stop/Turn Lamps
7 10 Trailer Left Stop/Turn Lamps
--

Maxi-Fuse Position Amps Circuits Protected
8 30 4 WABS Relay No. 2
9 30 PCM Power Relay, Powertrain Control Module (PCM)
10 20 See Fuse 18 (IP Fuse Panel), Starter Relay
11 — Not Used
12 (Diode) 20 Ignition System, PCM Power Relay Coil
13 50 See Fuses 5, 9 and 13 (IP Fuse Panel)
14 30 Rear Window Defrost
15 50 See Fuses 1 and 7 (IP Fuse Panel) and Fuse 5
16 20 Fuel Pump Relay
17 50 See Fuses 2, 6, 11 and 17, Maxi-Fuse 22 and Circuit Breaker 14
18 30 Trailer Battery Charge Relay
19 40 Main Light Switch, Headlamps
20 50 See Fuses 4, 8 and 16 (IP Fuse Panel). Also See Circuit Breaker 12.
21 30 Trailer Electronic Brake Control Unit
22 20 Diode Current Flows from Fuse 22 to PCM Power Relay
Relay 1 Relay PCM Power Relay
Relay 2 Relay Fuel Pump Relay
Relay 3 Relay Horn Relay
Relay 4 Relay Trailer Marker Lamps Relay
Relay 5 Relay 4WABS Relay No. 2

For a better view of the Diagram & Listing see;
this is from Diagram in 96 Bronco & F-Series
Source: by Ford via thedieselstop.com @ http://www.thedieselstop.com/faq/949...j/stji1002.htm

and a PDB Diagram in a 93; Click next to see the Diagram
Source: by Bronco Rob at SuperMotors.net http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/290853

I know that earlier years did have a horn fuse in the cab fuse block
Also, check the cab fuse block cover; inside for a diagram as well bec sometimes Ford made changes and their on-line diagrams don't match up well w/ the cover's diagram
__________________
96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN (Ret) & MIL/DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see current page
miesk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 02:23 PM   #6
adrianspeeder
USAF C-17 Avionics
 
adrianspeeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dover AFB DE / Harrisburg PA
Posts: 6,335
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: '94, '92, '88, and '84 Broncos
For an 89 with cruse it will be almost directly behind the cubby to the right of the steering column. If you didn't have cruse you don't have a horn relay. Here's a picture of it unbolted and swung down around.



Adrianspeeder
__________________
adrianspeeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 05:16 PM   #7
BigBroncoLuvr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hobe Sound, FL
Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT, 351, E4OD, 6" Suspension Lift
UPDATE: Stopped at Pep Boys and bought a replacement relay (as described above by Mierk5) and bingo ! Horn is now functioning.

Thanks much Mierk5 !

So, hopefully, this will help someother FSB owner in the futre.

Summary:
1. FSB is a 1995, 5.8L.
2. Airbag light was flashing on dash.
3. Horn didnt work.

Fix:
1. Replaced clock spring (note the clockspring is NOT the same for a 94 FSB as is the 95 FSB)
2. Replaced horn relay.

Gotta love this forum.
__________________
1995 XLT with 351/Auto/Limited Slip/6" Suspension Lift
BigBroncoLuvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 07:42 PM   #8
Mudhound
RBV Abuser, F/S user
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Eastern Kentucky, in the Red River Gorge area
Posts: 750
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 84 BII, 90 Ranger, 94 "X", 87 F150
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianspeeder View Post
For an 89 with cruse it will be almost directly behind the cubby to the right of the steering column. If you didn't have cruse you don't have a horn relay. Here's a picture of it unbolted and swung down around.



Adrianspeeder
Okay. Appereantly, my 89 model is a freak. It has cruise, doesn't work, but all of the parts are there, but, there is NO plug/block that looks remotely like what you have. The only plug under there that is unaccounted for is a black, flat one that has a thick grey, yellow, pink , and another one that I couldn't get a good look at. Any thoughts on this? I really would like to get the horn working factory style again.
Mudhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 09:38 AM   #9
miesk5
Fullsize Member
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 11,852
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
yo
Good job BBL!
---
Next up...

Cruise Control & HORN Relay..etc.. wiring diagram for a '88.5 or '89 Bronco by Reptillikus (Project 4D2, Kevin W) at SuperMotors.net


----------
Cruise (Speed) Control (Vacuum) "TRICKS OF THE TRADE" Troubleshooting TSB 90-25-12 by Ford for 86-91 Bronco, Aerostar, Econoline, Explorer, F-150, F-250, F-350, Ranger & cars
Source: by Ford via miesk5 (Al) at Miesk5's Home Page of Big Bronco Links home.comcast.net
http://home.comcast.net/~miesk5/tech...ger%20&%20cars
--------------

Lastly, but most important... Be Safe Adrian, and thanks!
__________________
96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN (Ret) & MIL/DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see current page
miesk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 09:41 AM   #10
miesk5
Fullsize Member
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 11,852
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
Didn't get this part in;
Mudhound; re: "...black, flat one that has a thick grey, yellow, pink , and another one that I ..."
That connector seems (a guessing) to be one that plugs into da CC Amplifier as shown in that wiring diagram by Reptillikus; it is shown in upper left corner.
__________________
96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN (Ret) & MIL/DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see current page
miesk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 04:30 PM   #11
mikey321
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cali
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 95 bronco 351 4in lift 33x12.50
bronco cruise control

i have a 95 bronco the cruise control will not work but the horn does work any suggestions on where to start or troulbe shooting ideas?
mikey321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 11:33 PM   #12
Mudhound
RBV Abuser, F/S user
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Eastern Kentucky, in the Red River Gorge area
Posts: 750
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 84 BII, 90 Ranger, 94 "X", 87 F150
Well, now that I have this, HOPEFULLY I can get the horns working again shortly. I tend to agree that the black, flat plug going nowhere is msot likely the C/C amp missing, which would explain the C/C not working... I'll try and check tomorrow. Thanks to everybody for helping with this.
Mudhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 08:06 AM   #13
miesk5
Fullsize Member
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 11,852
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
yo Mudhound,

ok, GL on it!
---
mikey321
Was the recall work done on it?
If not; get it done Immediately!!!

Recall for 94-96 Bronco, 94-02 F-150, 97-02 Expedition & 98-02 Lincoln Navigators; NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID Number: 05V017000; Recall Date JAN 27, 2005 & Update; Field Service Action 05S28 Speed Control System Modification

Recall Update; Field Service Action 05S28 Speed Control System Modification Supplement #7 for 94-96 Bronco, 94-02 F-150/250 (Under 8500 GVW), 97- 02 Expedition, 98-02 Navigator, 02 Blackwood
Source: by Ford via Steve83 (Steve, That dirty old truck) at http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...media/505128_1

Recall; Fused Jumper Harness (14A411) pic; "List price on this is ~$11 (as of the date I posted the pic), but it will be installed at NO CHARGE (parts or labor) on vehicles covered by the recall. Even though the label is wrong about the fuse being internal, it should still NEVER be replaced. If it blows, it means the brake pressure switch is leaking, and (as the label states) should be replaced with the new switch & adapter harness kit, listing for ~$20 right now..."
Source: by Ford via Steve83 (Steve, That dirty old truck) at http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...media/505128_1

Call Dealer; have VIN ready

if done;
Troubleshooting Chart, Electronic Servo System in 93-96
Source: by Ford via Steve83 (Steve, That dirty old truck) at http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/177061

Wiring Diagram in 93-96
Source: by Steve83 (Steve, That dirty old truck) at http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/322459


Inoperative; Short Circuits, Common Locations TSB 95-02-11 on 94-95 Bronco & Trucks (Fuse 13 Blown; ck the owner's guide & fuse block cover-inside for proper fuse# in your year)
Source: by Ford via Steve83 (Steve, That dirty old truck) at http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...media/470456_1

Pressure Switch Location pic in a 95
Source: by Trucky18 (Bco) at http://www.supermotors.org/clubs/sup...=28297#content

see more info Links in my site under Electrical, Cruise (Speed) Control
Since horn works, rule out da Clock Spring
__________________
96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN (Ret) & MIL/DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see current page
miesk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 09:50 AM   #14
mikey321
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cali
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 95 bronco 351 4in lift 33x12.50
it wasnt done that i know of but i contacted the dealer and they said it was not recalls for my vin number
mikey321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 10:08 AM   #15
Smok3y
FSB's Dirty Jersian
 
Smok3y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,553
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 89 Eddie Bauer + 79 F250 Ranger Lariat
If your horn AND cruise are not working, its most likely your clock spring. The way to tell is with the car off, press the horn button. If you hear a clicking sound from your passenger side dash, its clock spring b/c the relay is still working.

thought you might find this useful too
http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...ad.php?t=62939
__________________

89 Eddie Bauer - 6" RC Lift, 35" KO's, 302/c6 swap, Ford 9"
79 F250 Ranger Lariat - 9" Lift, 40" Ground Hawgs, 400/435/205, D60/D70 LOCKED

Quote:
Originally Posted by SigEpBlue
All I want people to do is STOP, THINK, and SEARCH. Only post if those three fail after thoroughly repeating.
Smok3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 11:07 AM   #16
miesk5
Fullsize Member
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 11,852
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
yo Smok3y!
Is that off 206?

Mikey's horn is working; he posted sim Q here in another topic.
__________________
96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN (Ret) & MIL/DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see current page
miesk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 11:14 AM   #17
Smok3y
FSB's Dirty Jersian
 
Smok3y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,553
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 89 Eddie Bauer + 79 F250 Ranger Lariat
Quote:
Originally Posted by miesk5 View Post
yo Smok3y!
Is that off 206?

Mikey's horn is working; he posted sim Q here in another topic.
yea but I duno if the OP's horn is back working thats why i posted that up.


and no its off Route 70. Obviously you're located in south jersey. I'm gona Pm you about some stuff this way we aren't cluttering this thread with BS
__________________

89 Eddie Bauer - 6" RC Lift, 35" KO's, 302/c6 swap, Ford 9"
79 F250 Ranger Lariat - 9" Lift, 40" Ground Hawgs, 400/435/205, D60/D70 LOCKED

Quote:
Originally Posted by SigEpBlue
All I want people to do is STOP, THINK, and SEARCH. Only post if those three fail after thoroughly repeating.
Smok3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:13 PM   #18
kossmonaut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)
hello, new to the forums but you guys have helped me before

i seem to be in the same situation as mudhound.

my cruise amp is missing and my horn relay clicks instead of the horn.

i see the 1 connector for the cruise amp but nothing for the horn (yel/grn yel/blu blue)

can i purchase a replacement cc amp?
what about the lack of horn connector?

any help is appreciated

edit '89 xlt 5.6
kossmonaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:47 PM   #19
Alvin in AZ
AKA: Butthead
 
Alvin in AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gadsden Purchase
Posts: 2,880
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: '91 RoadQueen 351w-2wd-ZF camtiming+4* 265/75-16E's dual Ranchos F&R, SuperCab bench seat EEC=F250
Quote:
Originally Posted by miesk5 View Post
yo!
Relay Location in an 89; "...under the middle of the dash, but it's
probably not the older metal 3-terminal relay attached to the cruise module;
it looks more like the FP relay. If that's what you have, I suggest you chop
it (& the FP & EEC PWR relays) off and replace it with a Bosch/ISO...But
remember that it's possible for your horn relay to be working perfectly &
the wiring or the horns themselves could be bad..."
Source: by Steve83 at Ford Bronco Zone Forums
Cool one Steve83 and thanks to both of yuh, Miesk! :)

Been wondering about those dangged Ford relays, had a few failures on
them. One failure has been them working when they wasn't supposed to.
Shut the door and the fuel pump would come one or hook up the meter
ready to check the IAC voltage and find voltage on it with the key off. :/

Bought some Bosch relays and pig-tailed-holders from Parts Express and
used them for my weird-assed dash mounted ignition switch rewiring job.
http://www.panix.com/~alvinj/file12/BroncoDash.jpg
So have been thinking about swapping out the relays under the hood too.

Oh, and x2 on the horn relay, you can see I don't have a horn button yet
but jumpering the wires I hear the relay under dash clicking but no horn. :)

-------------
BigBroncoLuvr wrote:
"Gotta like the guys on this forum."
Reworded it to both give credit where it's due and not make it sound gay.
LOL :)

Alvin in AZ
Alvin in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved