Oil pressure switch replacement - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2009, 12:47 AM   #1
Canoeboy146
Registered User
 
Canoeboy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 90 XLT, 134K, 351W, E4OD, manual hubs and t-case, Trak Loc LS, 31s BFG ATs, allum wheels
Oil pressure switch replacement

Sorry, no photos here, but I want to add this because it might help someone else.

My oil pressure gauge was reading on the "N" of the NORMAL range. After doing some research it seemed like it could be the oil pressure switch, also known as a sensor or sending unit.

To test: Disconnect the wire from the switch, ground it to the truck and turn the key on. If your gauge quickly moves to the left, the problem is most likely the switch. The switch on my 5.8 is located near the oil filter. It is in a difficult spot to work on so I advise that you go to NAPA and get an Oil Pressure Switch socket to do the job. The cost is about $7-$8, this will save you time and will help you reinstall the new switch.

Wrap some teflon tape around the threads and install. Make sure that it is in tight, I don't know about torque specs, I just put mine in quite snug. Hook the wire back on and start your engine. For me it was the cure. My oil pressure now reads over near the "M" on NORMAL. Good luck.
Canoeboy146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2009, 04:07 AM   #2
scottswierenga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: '94 XLT Bronco
Sweet Sweet Cuppin' Cakes........I'm gonna have to give this little test a try and see what I get. Mine currently sits at the N of Normal too, I thought maybe it was low on oil but after checking, it wasn't. I was a bit confused and worried until now. I then thought it may be the sender but wasn't sure how to go about it. Thanks.
scottswierenga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 10:44 AM   #3
Canoeboy146
Registered User
 
Canoeboy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 90 XLT, 134K, 351W, E4OD, manual hubs and t-case, Trak Loc LS, 31s BFG ATs, allum wheels
I hope this solves your problem. I highly recommend getting the sensor socket to take your old sensor out. I took mine out with a regular socket and some vice grips, this was a real PITA because there just isn't much room to work. The lower radiator hose was in the way too but I used a bungie to hold it over to the side. When I went to Napa to get a new sensor, the guy showed me the socket. It made installing the new sensor a three-minute job. Good luck.
Canoeboy146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 12:13 PM   #4
scottswierenga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: '94 XLT Bronco
How much did parts run? BroncoGraveyard has senders for $12, and some Sender Extension for $21 (what ever the extension is for......???)
scottswierenga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 04:48 PM   #5
dan76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UT/TX
Posts: 1,738
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: Stock, low mileage, 5.0, 1989 with manual trans
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottswierenga View Post
How much did parts run? BroncoGraveyard has senders for $12, and some Sender Extension for $21 (what ever the extension is for......???)
The extension is most likely a hollow (for oil passage), hex shaped and threaded for the block and oil pressure sender. Removing the pressure sender allows one to screw the extension into the block and thread the p/sender onto the other end. This moves your sender away from the filter for easier access. I often see them at the recycling yard.

PS: If you get one from a donor vehicle, ensure it's not been "glassed" due to the ill-advised clunker program.
__________________
Lest we forget:

SSgt Ray Rangel, USAF
SrA Elizabeth Loncki, USAF
PFC Adam Harris, USA
dan76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 09:33 PM   #6
scottswierenga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: '94 XLT Bronco
"glassed"??? What does that mean?
scottswierenga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 12:45 AM   #7
dmo
Registered User
 
dmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 351 Eddie Bauer/1995 351 XLT LA Sheriff
The dealer or whoever received the "clunker" was required to replace the oil in the engine with sodium-silicate, and then instructed to run the engine at about 1500-2000 RPM until it stops.
__________________
1995 351W E40D Eddie Bauer
dmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 05:43 PM   #8
Canoeboy146
Registered User
 
Canoeboy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 90 XLT, 134K, 351W, E4OD, manual hubs and t-case, Trak Loc LS, 31s BFG ATs, allum wheels
I got my sensending unit/sensor at Napa for about $6 and the socket was about $7.
Canoeboy146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 07:39 PM   #9
Mike310
Registered User
 
Mike310's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 356
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 Black on Black XLT
I cant seem to find the oil pressure sender on the 95 5.8L, the haynes book says "at the rear of the engine block, behind the intake manifold. i'm going to have to take the manifold off arnt I?


Thanks in advance

Mike310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 10:41 PM   #10
Mike310
Registered User
 
Mike310's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 356
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 Black on Black XLT
I found it, it was in the front above the oil filter. Problem is it did not fix the gauge. I'm going to to check the wire connection, it moved a little bit when I first turned it one. we'll see.
Mike310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 11:04 PM   #11
socal82bronco
Registered User
 
socal82bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 2,092
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: 82 351w
My oil gauge reads around the N but after a bit or driving it goes near L I check the oil and I'm fine I don't need to add any. Not sure what's wrong with it.
socal82bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 01:29 PM   #12
JTQlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for the advise on the sending unit socket, I'm going to have to get one of those when I get the new switch. right now mine bounces from the "M" to Low pressure and every where in between. i have plenty of oil in there and it doesn't seem to be losing pressure at but the switch is driving me crazy. think I'll replace it today.
JTQlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:43 PM   #13
Mudhound
RBV Abuser, F/S user
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Eastern Kentucky, in the Red River Gorge area
Posts: 750
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 84 BII, 90 Ranger, 94 "X", 87 F150
You can steal the extension off just about ANY of the V6 Ford motors. Some are longer than others. I like to swipe them from the junk-azz 2.9 in the RBVs.
Mudhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 09:23 PM   #14
bacon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: jacksonville florida
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 93 bronco family owned since 93 2.5 inch lift and 33s
awesome i noticed the other day mine fluxuates from n to a i thought sludge dropped pan cleaned up and new oil pump to have the same results it was the damn sending unit switch thingy also mine was doing it cause of a bad connection the new one did it until i cleaned the connections
bacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:57 AM   #15
johnny sack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
Thank you for writing about the oil sending unit socket. I did not know about this. I banged my knuckles for an hour last night trying to get that thing out.
johnny sack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 12:54 PM   #16
buckingbronc88
Registered User
 
buckingbronc88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spring, Texas
Posts: 117
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: #1 - 88 Bronco XLT 302 EFI, 3" susp, 3" body lift / #2 - 85 351W, C6 tranny, 9" rear.
Waking up a year old thread is stupid sometimes, but I have to add that dropping the oil pan, cleaning out all the crap, $25 pump, a new screen, and a new switch will let me sleep better. You don't even have to put in a new pump and screen, just clean it up and put it back. Knowing as much as possible is obviously better than wondering if things are really ok in there.
That's my dollar's worth. For the newbs
__________________
GOD, wife, kids, Bronco. Necessities please
buckingbronc88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 10:39 PM   #17
WEEKEND 4 WHEELERS
Registered User
 
WEEKEND 4 WHEELERS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: san antonio tx
Posts: 329
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 89 ford bronco. 357w, C6, 3.08 gears (suck) 33/12.50r15 duratracs 8k winch, some lights and stuff!!!
hey can some one help me. my truck reads fine before it warms up. the needle stays on M for a while. once the truck warms up it stays at M until i let off the gas. then it bounces a little and starts to drop to the red. i freaked to first time i saw this cause i just got the truck 4 days ago. but the engine does not change at all in sound or proformance. i drove it all day like this and nothing changes but the guage. also a little off toppic but is it ok for my batt guage to be on N of NORMAL? thanks for any help. i can take as much as i can get
WEEKEND 4 WHEELERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 03:11 PM   #18
Mack00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 Bronco (Eddie Bauer)
Did you need to drain any oil before taking off the oil sending unit? I just got a "real" electric oil pressure gauge and I'm using Sixlitre's plumbing writeup to keep the dash gauge working.

One minor difference is I don't have an extension or "hollow". I may just use a 2-4" nipple to get it away from the block...thoughts?
__________________
1995 5.8L Eddie Bauer
Mack00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 03:36 PM   #19
Seattle FSB
Fullsize Member
 
Seattle FSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,466
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: 1990 EB FSB, MAF, 6.7L, E4OD, 4" Rancho, 4.56, 33" on 15x10 Alcoa's
I did not have to drain any oil. Having the socket was helpful.


__________________
1990 Bronco, MAF, 408 Stroker, Level 10 E4OD, Currie F9+, Electric Boost Brakes, lots more...
Seattle FSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 02:40 PM   #20
Mack00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 Bronco (Eddie Bauer)
Thanks for the pics. Yours looks different than mine. My oil filter is in some kind of bracket and its preventing me from getting the socket around the sending unit. Anyone else have issues getting the socket on the sending unit on the 5.8?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Seattle FSB View Post
I did not have to drain any oil. Having the socket was helpful.


__________________
1995 5.8L Eddie Bauer
Mack00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Technical Write Ups


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 AM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved